Posted by: patoconnor | February 13, 2012

Lymphedema Family Study – the financial crises

Family members, last Fall, in my Yahoo online support groups I wrote a post about the desperate financial situation of the Lymphedema Family Study at the University of Pittsburg and I wanted to share it here as well.

When I got active online back in 2003, there was only one confirmed gene – VEGFC
and one suspected FOXC2.

Now with the one I shared about yesterday, there are eight. With many more
being extremely close to being found.

Now, it appears d-day is looming closer.

I received this note yesterday from the director, Dr. Finegold.

We always complain about the medical world not caring, and I wish I could convey  Dr. Finegold’s dedication in this post. You’ll never find anyone more committed to the lymphedema world then he is.

This is our chance to stand up and be counted – and – to show that we believe
our lives to be worth being cured. If there is anything, anything you can do,
please follow the link to the study and help.

Lymphedema Family Study

or

http://www.hgen.pitt.edu/projects/lymph/

Here is an excerpt from his note:

“I’m in a situation where I need to reach out to people in the lymphedema
community.

I believe we have identified an opportunity to significantly affect
wound healing by stimulating lymphogenesis in preparations of adipocyte
stem cells or a mesenchymal stromal fraction prepared from adipocytes.
I believe this may also possibly be an avenue to the effective treatment of
lymphedema.

At this point in time, we don’t have sufficient funding to do the
experiments for proof of principle. I need to identify a commercial or
foundation entity who might be willing to seed us for six months or so
to solidify our preliminary data.”

Best

Dr. Finegold


Leave a Reply

Categories

